UK Travel Advisory: High-Risk Areas in Pakistan for British Nationals

The United Kingdom’s Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO) has recently issued a travel advisory for British nationals traveling to Pakistan, citing concerns in specific regions. They strongly discourage any travel within 10 miles of the Pakistan-Afghanistan border. Additionally, areas such as Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK), Baluchistan, and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa are also considered hazardous for travel.

Here’s a breakdown of the regions where British nationals are advised not to visit:

KPK Areas:

  • Bajaur
  • Bannu
  • Buner
  • Charsadda
  • Dera Ismail Khan
  • Khyber
  • Kohat
  • Kurram
  • Lakki Marwat
  • Lower Dir
  • Lower South Waziristan
  • Mohmand
  • North Waziristan
  • Orakzai
  • Peshawar, including the city of Peshawar
  • Swat
  • Tank
  • Upper South Waziristan

Balochistan Areas:

  • Except for necessary travel to some southern shore locations, all travel to Baluchistan is discouraged.

AJK (Azad Jammu and Kashmir):

  • Avoid travel within ten miles of the Line of Control (LOC), which is the military boundary between Indian-occupied Jammu and Kashmir (IIOJK) and AJK.

Sindh Areas:

  • In regions of Sindh Province north of and including Nawabshah, essential travel is advised, but non-essential travel is discouraged.

It’s important to note that the FCDO warns of potential consequences, including voiding travel insurance, for those who disregard this advisory and travel to these high-risk areas. Please exercise caution and follow their guidance to ensure your safety.

Leave a Comment