

F.No. 10-1/2021-Min-II GOVERNMENT OF PAKISTAN CABINET SECRETARIAT CABINET DIVISION

Islamabad, the 17th December, 2021

CIRCULAR

Subject: PUBLIC AND OPTIONAL HOLIDAYS FOR THE YEAR 2022

The Public and Optional Holidays regarding festivals of Muslims and Minorities in Pakistan for the Calendar Year 2022 would be as under:-

PUBLIC HOLIDAYS

Sr.#	Name of Occasion	Days	Dates during year 2022
1	Kashmir Day	Saturday	5 th February, 2022
2	Pakistan Day	Wednesday	23 rd March, 2022
3	Labour Day	Sunday	1 st May, 2022
4*	Eid-ui-Fitr,(1st Shawal 1443 A.H.)	Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday	3 rd , 4 th , 5 th May, 2022
5*	Ed-ul-Azha, (10 th Zil Haj 1443 A.H.)	Sunday, Monday, Tuesday	10 th , 11 th , 12 th July, 2022
6*	Ashura (9 th & 10 th Moharram 1444 A.H.)	Sunday, Monday	7 th , 8 th August, 2022
7	Independence Day	Sunday	14 th August, 2022
8*	Eid Milad-un-Nabi (12 th Rabi-ul- Awwal 1444 A.H)	Sunday	9 th October, 2022
9	Quaid-e-Azam Day/ Christmas	Sunday	25 th December, 2022
10	Day after Christmas	Monday	26 th December, 2022 (For Christians only)

2. The following will be Bank Holidays. However, on these days the Banks/DFIs/MFBs will remain closed for public but **NOT** for their employees:

Sr.#	Day/ Date		
1	3 rd January, 2022 (Monday)		
2*	4 th April, 2022 (Monday) corresponding to 1 st Ramazan 1443 A.H. for deduction of Zakat(subject to appearance of moon)		
3	1st July, 2022 (Friday)		

OPTIONAL HOLIDAYS

Sr.#	Name of Occasion	Days	Dates during year 2022
1	New Year Day	Saturday	1st January, 2022
2	Basant Punchami	Saturday	5 th February, 2022
3	Shivaratri	Tuesday	1 st March, 2022
4*	Shab-e-Meraj (27 th Rajab 1443 A.H)	Tuesday	1 st March, 2022
5	Holi	Thursday	17 th March, 2022
6	Dulhandi	Friday	18 th March, 2022
7*	Shab-e-Barat (15 th Shaban 1443 A.H)	Friday	18 th March, 2022
8	Baisakhi	Thursday	14 th April, 2022
9	Good Friday	Friday	15 th April, 2022
10	Easter/ Day After Easter Sunday	Sunday, Monday	17 th , 18 th April, 2022
11	Eid-e-Rizwan (Bahai's Community only)	Thursday	21st April, 2022
12	Buddha Purnima	Monday	16 th May, 2022
13	Nauroze (Parsi's New Year Day)	Tuesday	16 th August, 2022
14	Janam Ashtami	Friday	19 th August, 2022
15	Birthday of Lord Zoroaster (Khordad Sal)	Sunday	21 st August, 2022
16*	Chehlum (20 th Safar 1444 AH)	Saturday	17 th September, 2022
17	Durga Puja	Monday	3 rd October, 2022
18	Dussehra	Wednesday	5 th October, 2022
19	Birthday of Guru Valmik Sawami Ji	Sunday	9 th October, 2022
20	Diwali	Monday	24 th October, 2022
21*	Giyarvee Shareef (11th Rabi- us-Sani 1444 A.H)	Monday	7 th November, 2022
22	Guru Nanak Dev Jee Birthday	Tuesday	8 th November, 2022

NOTE:

- * In case of Muslim Festivals, the dates of Holidays are based on anticipated dates and are subject to appearance of moon for which a separate notification will be issued by Cabinet Division.
- 3. Government servants desiring to avail themselves of Optional Holidays shall take prior permission of the Head of Office concerned and no Government Servant shall be granted more than **one optional holiday in the case of Muslims** and **three optional holidays for Non-Muslims** in a calendar year.

- 4. The grant of this concession should not result in any dislocation of work. In the case of Muslim optional holidays, the number of persons permitted to avail optional holidays should be regulated in a manner so that adequate staff is available for proper continuance of the work. The optional holidays are denominational and may be allowed at the discretion of the Head of Office, provided that work does not suffer.
- 5. A Government Servant should not ordinarily be refused an Optional Holiday that is of religious significance and the refusal is likely to decrease the number of such holidays to which he/she is entitled.

(Anum Sidique) / Section Officer (Min-II) Ph:9206601

The Principal Information Officer, Press Information Department,

Islamabad.

Copy to:

- President's Secretariat (Personal), OSD (Admn). Aiwan-e-Sadr, Islamabad.
- 2. President's Secretariat (Public), DS (Admn), Alwan-e-Sadr, Islamabad.
- 3. Prime Minister's Office (Internal), OSD(Admn), Islamabad.
- 4. Prime Minister's Office (Public), DS (Admn), Islamabad.
- 5. The Chief Election Commissioner of Pakistan, Islamabad.
- 6. The Registrar, Supreme Court of Pakistan, Islamabad.
- 7. The Registrar, Islamabad High Court, Islamabad
- 8. The Auditor General of Pakistan, Islamabad,
- Secretaries/Additional Secretaries Incharge of Ministries / Divisions.
- 10. Secretary, Senate Secretariat, Islamabad.
- 11. Secretary, National Assembly Secretariat, Islamabad.
- 12. The AGPR, Islamabad.
- 13. Chief Secretaries, Government of the Punjab/Lahore, Sindh/ Karachi, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa/ Peshawar, Balochistan/Quetta, Gligit-Baltistan and AJK/Muzaffarabad.
- 14. All attached departments of Cabinet Division.
- 15. The Director General, ISI, Islamabad.
- 16. The Joint Staff Headquarters, Chaklala, Rawalpindi.
- 17. GHQ, Rawalpindi
- 18. The Director General, IB, Islamabad.
- 19. The Chief Commissioner, ICT, Islamabad.
- 20. The Manager, State Bank of Pakistan, Islamabad.
- 21. Secretary, Wafaqi Mohtasib's Secretariat, Islamabad.
- 22. Secretary, Wafaqi Tax Ombudsman's Secretariat, Islamabad.
- 23. PS to the Secretary, Cabinet Division, Islamabad.
- 24. PSs to the Additional Secretary-I, II & III, Cabinet Division, Islamabad.