Notification of Public and Optional Holidays in Pakistan 2022

Here are the Public and Optional Holidays in Pakistan in 2022 announced by Govt. Of Pakistan. In this regard, a notification has also been issued on 17 December 2021. According to this, the following Public and optional holidays would be observed as under;

Notification of Public and Optional Holidays in Pakistan 2022

The Public and Optional holidays regarding festivals of Muslims and Minorities for the Calendar Year 2022 would be as under:

S.NoName of OccasionDaysDates during year 2022
1Kashmir DaySaturday5th February, 2022
2Pakistan DayWednesday23rd March, 2022
3Labour DaySunday1st May, 2022
4*Eid-ul-Fitr (1st Shawal 1443 A.H)Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday3rd , 4th and 5th May 2022
5*Eid-ul-Azha (10th Zil Haj 1443 A.H)Sunday, Monday and Tuesday10th July, 11th and 12th July, 2022
6*Ashura (9th & 10th Moharram 1444 A.H)Sunday, Monday7th & 8th August, 2022
7Independence DaySunday14th August 2022
8*Eid Milad-un-Nabi (12th Rabi-ul-Awwal 1443 A.H)Sunday9th October, 2022
9Quaid-e-Azam Day/ChristmasSunday25th December, 2022
10Day after ChristmasMonday26th December, 2022  (For Christians Only)

The following will be Bank Holidays. However, on these days the Banks / DFls / MFBs will remain closed for public but NOT for their employees:

Bank Holidays in Pakistan 2022

S.NoDay / Date
13rd January, 2022 (Monday)
24th April, 2022 (Monday) corresponding to 1st Ramazan 1443 AH for deduction of Zakat (subject to appearance of moon)
31st July, 2022 (Friday)


In case of Muslim Festivals, the dates of Holidays are based on anticipated dates and are subject to appearance of moon for which a separate notification will be issued by M/o Interior.

Optional Holidays of Pakistan 2022

S.NoName of OccasionDaysDates during year 2022
1New Year DaySaturday1st January, 2022
2Basant  PunchamiSaturday5th February, 2022
3ShivaratriTuesday1st March, 2022
4Shab-e-Meraj (27 Rajab 1443 A.H)Tuesday1st March, 2022
5HoliThursday17th March, 2022
6DulhandiFriday18th March, 2022
7Shab-e-Barat (15th Shaban 1443 A.H)Friday18th March, 2022
8BaisakhiThursday14th April, 2022
9Good FridayFriday 15th April, 2022
10Easter / Day after Easter SundaySunday / Monday17th and 18th April, 2022
11Eid-e-Rizwan (Bahai’s Community only)Thursday21st April, 2022
12Buddha PurnimaMonday16th May, 2022
13Nauroze (Parsi’s New Year Day)Tuesday16th August, 2022
14Janam AshtamiFriday19th August, 2022
15Birthday of Lord Zoroaster (Khordad Sal)Sunday21st August, 2022
16Chehlum (20th Safar 1444 A.H)Saturday17th September, 2022
17Durga PoojaMonday3rd October, 2022
18DussehraWednesday5th October, 2022
19Birthday of Guru Valmik Sawami JiSunday9th October, 2022
20DiwaliMonday24th October, 2022
21Giyarvee Shareef (11th Rabi-Us-Sani 1444 A.H)Monday7th November, 2022
22Guru Nanak Dev Jee BirthdayMonday8th November, 2022
  • Government servants desiring to avail themselves of Optional Holidays shall take prior permission of the Head of Office concerned and no Government Servant shall be granted more than one optional holiday in the case of Muslims and three optional holidays for Non-Muslims, in a calendar year.
  • The grant of this concession should not result in any dislocation of work. In the case of Muslim optional holidays, the number of persons permitted to avail optional holidays should be regulated In a manner so as to adequate staff is available for proper continuance of the work.
  • The optional holidays are denominational and may be allowed at the discretion of the Head of Office, provided that work is not suffered.
  • A Government Servant should not ordinary be refused an Optional Holiday that is of religious significance to him and the refusal is like to decrease the number of such holidays to which she/he is entitled.

Leave a Comment